Three Months Down, Three To Go

For the class of 2016, we’re now officially on the back half of our final clinical rotation and that means only a few more months until we get that coveted DPT! By this point, we’re all becoming more independent and starting to really feel like we’re ready to hit the real world on our own. I think I speak for us all when I say that our PT skills have grown immensely since that first day in Module I! But this clinical is about more than just sharpening the PT skills we’ve learned in school; it’s also about honing the intangibles that we can’t necessarily learn or practice in the classroom. For instance, personally I’ve felt over these first three months that I’m constantly learning how to be a better listener (if you think I’m wordy with blogging, just imagine how I am in a conversation =). One intangible that I definitely have down pat is making every patient smile or laugh AT LEAST once during a treatment session (let’s be honest, it’s quite possible that they’re laughing at me, not with me). While I’m certainly thankful for the chance to expand my hands-on PT skills, it’s been the growth of the intangibles that have really made this last clinical so much fun. Three more months, Class of 2016!!!

Leave a Reply

