The Journey Begins

As the end of my second month in Elon’s DPT program nears, I am sitting here wondering what to write. In all honesty, this blog post is proving to be more difficult than any of the classes I have faced thus far. I can understand the physiology of nerve function, I can tell you all the terminal branches of the brachial plexus, and I can take you through upper extremity passive ranges of motion, but what can I tell you about your future experiences during the first months here at Elon DPT?

Well, to begin, don’t fret about the transition from undergrad, your current job, or your ‘no work-just fun’ hiatus leading up to graduate school. The first module of the program really eases you into the swing of things. There you will gain a clearer understanding of what it entails, both emotionally and professionally, to be a PT as well an insight into the world of healthcare. Besides the initial shock of meeting Dave, my anatomy donor body in our first lab, I’d say the first month went by smoothly.

Module 1 is an excellent time to explore the area (if you’re not familiar), meet your classmates, and find a daily schedule that’s comfortable for you. Definitely try to make time for yourself to do things you love or that put you in your happy place. Personally, I’ve begun waking up at 6 AM everyday to go workout before class, which I found helps me get through our long days of lab and lecture.

Speaking of lab and lecture, I feel it is important to implant one concept I’ve learned so far before embarking on your journey to becoming a PT, which Shrek and Donkey’s eloquent dialogue about onions beautifully illustrates. “Layers. Onions have layers. Ogres have layers. You get it? We both have layers.” While we are not becoming ogres (although some mornings I feel like one), we are building layer upon layer of skills; each skill acting as a foundation for the next. At the moment, we have only gained the first few layers of PT knowledge and it can be hard to fathom our end form. My advice is to forget about the future for the moment and live in the now, focus on the current material, and immerse yourself into the process of forming your newest layer of skill.

That’s all for now. I’ll keep y’all posted on how our road to becoming PTs is going!

Leave a Reply

