Continuing Education

Based on the title, you may be thinking to yourself, “Hey, isn’t continuing education something that I do when I’m done with PT school? I’m already up to my eyeballs in anatomy, special tests, and spinal tracts!!” Don’t fret friends, I’m right there with you! The continuing education I’ve been pumped about recently is not anything to stress about; in fact I want to share some of my favorite resources that actually help keep the ole’ PT school stress levels down and the excitement about our awesome profession up! So here’s a list of some of these said resources that I particularly love….

  1. The PT Pintcast (and other PT podcasts) – I don’t know about y’all, but I am a HUGE fan of podcasts. And surprise, I’m also a huge fan of PT! So it shouldn’t be a shock to anyone that this awesome PT podcast is a favorite of mine. The host of the show is actually a PT student, and he brings on some big names in various fields of our profession (and related professions) to talk about all kinds of great PT related topics. Hearing from these guests of the show always makes me pumped about my career path and the many exciting skills that I’ll get to learn along the way. Check it out here http://www.ptpintcast.com
  2. Conferences – I just got back from CSM 2016, where I had the amazing blessing/opportunity to present my research project as a platform presentation. As one of my professors predicted would be the case, the whole experience got me hooked, and I can’t wait to go to many many more conferences throughout my career. There are many awesome things about conferences including the chance to network with tons of other PT’s, learn about the many exciting developments in our field, and learn new skills and information that can help us in the treatment of our patients.
  3. PT Apps – while listening to the aforementioned PT Pintcast, I heard about an awesome app called iOrtho+, which is an app that has tons of great info and videos about special tests and joint mobilizations. Another great app is called QxMD Read, which is an app that finds literature to meet your specific practice interests. There are obviously many more that exist, and I’m sure we’ll only see more exciting ones in years to come.
  4. PT Literature – cue the grrrooooans!! While I know it may seem tough to read research literature on top of all the other work we have to do as PT students, the app that I mentioned above and other resources (like personalized Pubmed searches) are making it easier than ever to find specific literature that excites you! Also, reading literature is a great way to stay abreast of the latest and greatest discoveries that can help us treat our patients in the best way possible.

 

Hopefully this small list excites you as much as it does me, and I hope you can make great use of these resources!

Leave a Reply

