A Season of Thanks, A Lifetime of Thankfulness

On Thursday, all across America, families and loved ones came together to eat copious calories, watch football and hopefully spend some time reflecting on the things for which we can offer our thanks. My use of the word “thanks” there is 100 percent intentional because I’ve come to realize over the years that there is a difference between “giving thanks” and thankfulness. “Giving thanks” is something that I see as temporary and a behavior that we’re especially prone to do this time of year. While that is CERTAINLY not a bad thing, I’m working hard in my life to maintain the more permanent state of “giving thanks,” i.e. thankfulness. Thankfulness, I believe, is more of an attitude and a state of mind rather than a behavior, and I think it has profound implications for how we live our lives and for helping us live out our lives with joy.

Wow….ok now that I’m done waxing philosophical, I’d like to take this time to say that in my striving (yes, it takes work to maintain this attitude!) to maintain an attitude of thankfulness, I am reminded how much I love physical therapy and how grateful I am that I get to spend a lifetime making a positive difference in the lives of others. In addition, I’m grateful for the Department of Physical Therapy Education at Elon University and for the ways that our faculty pours into our lives and education. And last but not least, I’m grateful for the influence that my crazy awesome (seriously, they’re both crazy and awesome) classmates have had on my life over these two short years. So class of 2016, as we move toward our last year, let’s both give thanks and put on an attitude of thankfulness as we move closer towards the day where we can write DPT after our names and start doing what we love most!

Leave a Reply

