We’re Basically PT’s….sort of

Seems like just yesterday that we were nervously awaiting the start to our first clinical rotation. Fast forward to this first day of November 2015 and we’re now officially finished with three of our four clinicals. And that also means that we have all had the opportunity to experience and treat patients in a number of different kinds of clinical settings.

Honestly, as I think about returning to campus for more didactic material, I’m tempted to just say “Hey, who needs more class!? I mean, we’re basically PT’s now right??” Wrong. While I’m sure that I speak for everyone in saying that we have learned a TON of skills and gained a TON of knowledge during these three clinicals of 2015, we would be doing a disservice to our future patients if we think for a second that we’re above the information that we will continue to learn and absorb back at school. PT is a profession that demands the willingness to learn throughout one’s career, and while I will certainly miss the clinical life, I’m excited for this upcoming third year and the opportunities that it will bring with regards to learning how to more effectively treat my patients.

With all of that said, I hope as well that we will all take the time to reflect on all the amazing things that we’ve learned while on these two neuro clinicals. Personally, I know that I have the tendency to just bounce from one season of life to the next without taking the needed time to sit down and really think about the personal and professional lessons that I’ve learned. If I were to give in to that same tendency during this particular transition period, I would lose what are without a doubt some of the most important life and professional lessons that I have learned up to this point in my life.

So 2016, as we head back to school soon, let’s work hard to hold on to all that we’ve learned over the past 4 months while at the same time being thankful and excited for all the wonderful knowledge and skills that we have yet to learn!

Leave a Reply

