Ain’t Nothin’ Like the Real Thing

As Marvin Gaye says, “ain’t nothin’ like the real thing.” Now I know you’re thinking “wait a minute, I thought this was a student PT blog, not a music blog!?” Well it is a student PT blog, and it just so happens that the lyrical genius of Marvin Gaye and Tammi Terrell perfectly applies to how I’ve felt during this first month of our first clinical. Allow me to explain….

For the last five months of 2014, my classmates and I practiced a plethora of musculoskeletal assessment techniques and interventions. Fortunately, we had 48 different people with whom to practice these techniques. Unfortunately, only a small handful of us had the given pathologies that these techniques and interventions were intended to treat. Therefore, we all came out of our last module feeling pretty good about our technique but having little to no concept about what these things actually looked like with real patients.

What’s that you said Marvin?? Ain’t nothing like the real thing?? So true!!! When it comes to using all the techniques and interventions that we’ve learned, there really is nothing like applying them to a real patient with a real pathology. Within the first 4 hours of my clinical, I was blown away by the realization of how different it feels to perform a joint mobilization on a pathological joint versus a healthy joint. While I’m not at all implying that our coursework didn’t prepare us, I am confident in saying that you really can’t appreciate what you learn in PT school until you actually stand in front of a real patient with real pain. But what an awesome month it’s been so far!! I’ve certainly realized that I’ve still got MUCH to learn, but it has been so much fun and so exciting to actually work with real patients!! Can’t wait to see what the second month holds, and while I know you might be tempted to just say you “Heard It Through the Grapevine,” check back here in a month to see “What’s Going On” in the clinic!

Leave a Reply

