Graduation – A Time to Feel All of the Feelings

So this is it, our time as students is coming to a close, as Elon’s DPT Class of 2014 is graduating! I write this blog with so many mixed emotions that I’m not quite sure where to begin. I guess I’ll start by going through each of them; I can assure you that they are not likely emotions that I am feeling in isolation; my guess is that many of my classmates are feeling some, if not all, of the same emotions that I am feeling right now.

Feelings of Disbelief:

-I cannot believe I made it through PT school! For me, I have so many people to thank for making this possible: my husband and my family, my best buddy in school, and all the professors that have given their time and effort to make this a success. I know in my heart however, that the only thing that has truly made this experience a success for me is God’s grace; to Him alone I give the glory!

-I cannot believe it’s over! Where have the last 3 years gone? It’s hard to believe that three years ago we were strangers about to embark on this roller coaster of a ride that is PT school.

Feelings of Joy:

-We’re done and will be graduating next weekend! It’s an exciting and joyful time to celebrate all that we have worked so hard to accomplish.

-I also find joy in reflecting on the lifelong friendships that have formed, the peers that met at school and have gotten engaged and/or married, and looking back at how far we’ve come since our first day at Elon.

Overwhelming Feelings:

-Too much to do! For myself (and some of my classmates) the next 7 weeks will be quite overwhelming, as they’ll include: family visiting for graduation, studying for the NPTE, taking the NPTE, packing to move/moving/unpacking, applying for jobs, interviewing for jobs, and hopefully starting a new job! Oh and don’t forget the holidays; you can add gift shopping, traveling to be with family, etc. to the list.  Yikes, I feel overwhelmed just writing this all down!

Feelings of Hope:

-I am hopeful for my future and for the future of all my classmates. We have worked so hard and my desire is that each of us find fulfillment is what we do, I hope that we help many people and affect many lives in a positive way, and I hope that over the years we all stay in touch regardless of where life may bring us!

In closing, I’d like to extend a great big “CONGRATULATIONS” to Elon’s DPT Class of 2014! I am grateful to have met each one of you and am proud to be a part of the doctors of physical therapy that make up this class. Good luck and best wishes!

One response to “Graduation – A Time to Feel All of the Feelings

  1. Beautifully said! Congratulations!!

Leave a Reply

