It’s All About Balance

It’s very interesting to be back at the Francis Center; in some ways it feels like we never left and in other ways it feels like we’ve been gone an eternity! It has been great catching up with friends and classmates the last few days, but I have to admit it has been difficult to get back into the swing of classes, labs, homework and studying!

The current module is the complete opposite of our last academic module. Prior to our clinical experiences, we left off with neuro-science and neuro-management; currently, we are taking five very different classes: cardio pulmonary, exercise physiology, electro-physiology and wound care, research, and orthotics and prosthetics. Dr. Bailey has already warned us that this module will be challenging for the following reasons: 1) we’ve been out of academia for four months, 2) there are lots of breaks throughout the module ( both Thanksgiving and Christmas break fall within Module IX), and 3) we have, what he calls, “a hodge podge” of classes. It should be an interesting module to say the least.

My personal goal is to find balance during these last seven months of classes before our final, six month, clinical rotation. I have found, when on clinicals, I am much more social, travel more on the weekends, and have time to volunteer at (and participate in) events held at my church. The schedule of classes, assignments, projects, and papers seems pretty demanding for this module, but I am determined to find a healthy balance. It’s only been three days since we’ve been back to school, but so far I was to go out with friends Tuesday night and today I went for a walk with one of my classmates.  It was nice to chat and catch up with each other as we strolled along the sidewalk lined with beautifully colored fall trees. I am not sure what this weekend will bring, but in addition to my school work, I will be sure to make time for friends and family!

Leave a Reply

