Finding balance

If you were to ask my husband about how well I pay attention to detail, he would tell you that I am terrible when it comes to recalling specifics!  I usually get the general gist, but don’t recall things like  exact dates, restaurants, or names of people in the Bible.  I’m more likely to reference such things by saying “sometime in the winter of my senior year,” the “Italian restaurant with the landscaped roof,” or “the guy who built the ark.”

Okay, so those last two are a little exaggerated; I actually can remember Carrabba’s and Noah!  Anyway, for the first time in my life I am focusing on the details; not details in my personal life, but details in neuroscience. I’m discovering in this situation, however, that I need to see more of the general picture. After not doing as well as I would have liked on my last quiz, I talked to my professor about my approach to studying this subject.

Sidenote – I’d just like to mention again how fabulous the professors at Elon are: my professor took time to sit down with me his last half hour on campus before heading out of town for vacation (which actually turned into more like an hour or more), so that we could make sure I was taking the right approach to studying! Just another example as to what makes Elon’s DPT so outstanding.

Let’s get back to studying the details of neuroscience. While they are important, I have found that they are much like pieces of a puzzle. Each piece is important; that’s because you’ll notice right away if a piece is missing when the puzzle is complete. However, even with a missing piece, you will still be able see the general picture that the puzzle makes. On the other hand, you may look at each piece of the puzzle, becoming intimately familiar with each one. Without making connections (and placing the pieces together), you may never know what picture these pieces make! This is the same in neuroscience. So, while I still plan on paying attention to the details, I will also go back to my old habit of getting the general idea, seeing the big picture, and not getting too caught up in details!

I used to think the more, the better… more exercise, more money, and recently more details!  But I am learning that this is often times not true. More exercise brought stress fractures to a friend of mine who has been suffering with the consequences for months, when my husband and I were making more money it only brought on more responsibility and more stress, and more details has only caused me to lose site of the big picture.  Too much of anything, even good things, can result in less than favorable outcomes.  Much like life, this module is reinforcing the fact that balance is necessary.

Leave a Reply

