Finding Balance: A Time for Rest

The last month of the year; wow! Reflecting back on 2012, I must admit I have faced some of the biggest challenges of my life both personally and academically. It has been a year full of sacrifices, hard work, and perseverance. The days of being a school teacher where I had summers and holidays off and never worked more than three weeks straight without a three or four day weekend seem like a distant memory. My main focus now is how I’m going to survive the last two weeks of my first year.

I have been a competitive athlete all my life and even into my adult years, competing in body building, power lifting and running half marathons. As all athletes know, there is a time for training and a time for resting and recovering.  If you fail to rest and don’t allow your body to recover, your performance plateaus; if you continue to train, you will eventually see a decline in your performance. I feel like I am at the point of over training, only this time it is not my body that is in dire need of rest and recovery, it is my mind!

At the start of the year, my mind was fresh and absorbed information like a sponge. The last couple of months, I study longer, study harder and remember less!  I feel much like that athlete with the desire and will to perform, but the physical inability to do so. With just two weeks left, I will continue on even though my mind aches for just a taste of the days gone by when I was a teacher, living at the beach on summer vacation with nothing to think about but whether or not the waves would produce a good day of surfing.

I don’t know what 2013 will bring, but I am confident God has a plan. After finals and after my mind has had a chance to rest I will let my thoughts drift to the upcoming year. In the meantime though, my books await me and there is much to learn!

Leave a Reply

