Nearing An End

We are less than four weeks of class away from finishing our first year of PT school.  I know I talk about this all the time, but it’s hitting me more than ever; time is flying.

I don’t know when it happened but sometime in the last 10 months, I really became a PT student.  I really became committed to my future in this career.  I learned more in the last 10 months regarding PT than I ever knew before.  My life has taken a path that few others do, and I’m so grateful for the journey its been so far.

We have now completed both the spine and lower extremity sections of orthopedics and are one week into the upper extremity.  In just one week, I’ve already warped into that person that thinks about the shoulder motions involved in the throw I watched during the football game, or in watching people get groceries from the shelves in the store.  I knew my thought process had been changing but I’m seeing life in new ways because of school.

Thankfully, we’ll finally get a break for Thanksgiving soon, followed by a quick couple of weeks until Christmas break.  After the New Year, we’ll move on to our respective clinical sites for our first experience in the clinic since school started.

We’re almost there!

Fall is progressing beautifully here with the return of crisp air and the leaves changing.  Fall is a wonderful season down here.  I had the chance to spend some time out in Asheville hiking and driving the Blue Ridge Parkway—definitely worth your time if you get the chance.  I’ve eaten my fair share of apples from “nearby” orchards and enjoyed running outside once again (in my favorite kind of weather, temperate).

I’m looking forward to meeting next year’s students!  Hope your preparations have or will continue smoothly.  As always, please feel free to ask any questions, as I know well that it’s not a minor adjustment.

Leave a Reply

