A True Calling

I was just reading what Brittany wrote about how time in this physical therapy program flies by – and I was just thinking about how that has been a consistent theme throughout my time in this program as well.  There were definitely times when I felt like I just had so much work on my plate and so much ahead of me that I did not think I had the energy in me to finish the tasks, but as I look back, I can just see Christ carrying me through it all, giving me His energy, and now I realize how quickly my time has gone.

I have been challenged in this program, sometimes more-so than I thought I could handle, but if it had been easy, it would not feel so rewarding to be where I am right now.

Being in this profession, you are going to come into contact with all types of people, patients, and families, carrying along with them their own special and unique stories.  In the past few weeks working in acute care I have spent time with more than a few patients and families dealing with hard situations.  One patient was an elderly man who was over six feet tall and outwardly appeared to be a stout, strong man who was now dealing with all sorts of complications from cardiopulmonary problems.  While this man appeared to be this strong person, I experienced his gentle, tender, and fatigued heart and spirit as he talked with me about how this sickness was just too much for him, that he was ready to go “home” (meaning Heaven).

I prayed with him and talked with him and left that afternoon with a greater understanding of the hope I have in Christ.  He is my strength.  His strength is revealed even greater in my weakness.  He is my hope and my purpose.  And because of this, I have a light of hope to share with each patient and family that I have the great opportunity to work with and serve.  The field of physical therapy is not just a career path.  It is an avenue to serve others in a time of need, an opportunity to provide hope when someone is lost or worn out.

When I began to write this blog, I was going to comment on a question that had been asked regarding the process of applying for PT school, but I just wanted to share a little of what was on my heart first.  Okay, now to the process of applying to PT school.

In regards to any advice I may have on applying to different schools, I am not very knowledgeable because I only applied to Elon.  I know there are many students who apply to multiple schools, but I just felt that Elon was the place for me, so that is the only application I filled out.  I applied to Elon after looking through Elon’s DPT website, after gaining an understanding of their modular schedule and getting a feel of the purpose behind the program.  I appreciated that the prerequisites at Elon were not as stringent as some other schools, with the purpose behind this being so that people of all different ages and backgrounds could be a part of this program, enhancing the diversity and strength of the program.

So, from this, I would advise that anyone looking to apply to a PT school search the school’s website and understand the anticipated schedule for the program.  I would also advise that if you have the chance, go tour the school and talk with people in the graduate admissions and DPT program so that you can get a feel of what life would be like on that campus, in that program.  I went on an informal tour at Elon a few months before my interview and when I left that day, I just felt like that campus was home, that Elon was where I was meant to be for this season of my life.

I am not sure if this helps in any way to answer this question, but if there is any other question that anyone has, please let me know, and I will do the best I can to answer.

Have a great day!

2 responses to “A True Calling

  1. Renee' DeVos Riggs

    Your story has brought tears to my eyes! Through much prayer over this last year, Christ has lead to me resign from teaching physical education and health to pursuit my dream of becoming a physical therapist.

    On the day I interviewed at Elon, I felt that this is where God wanted me! The peace I felt that whole day is indescribable; everything seemed perfect. I fell in love with the campus, the staff, and the DPT students I met that day. I prayed that if it be the Lord’s will, that I be accepted. When I received the call that I was indeed accepted, I knew it was all in His plan for me.

    It is extremely exciting to me that this is His will for me! I have already begun praying for the endurance, strength and wisdom I will need to get through the three years that lie ahead of me. I know it will not be an easy road and will be full of challenges, but I do believe that I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me!

    Thank you so much for this inspirational story. Perhaps one day in the not so far future I will have the pleasure of meeting you personally.

  2. Renee I would love to meet you! I am so encouraged by your story as well and am here if you have any questions!

Leave a Reply

