Learning Through Service

Hey everyone!  Hope all is well.  Things are great here, moving right along with my internship, as two months have already gone by.  I am still working at the outpatient clinic and will be there another month before transitioning to an acute setting for my last three months.

This past week I was able to take a few days to go work at a children’s camp, and it was amazing.  During our internship, one of our requirements is to complete a consultation experience due to the fact that the service of consultation is one of the primary roles of a physical therapist.  For this experience, we were to explore opportunities to serve in our community through providing a service, through using the knowledge and skills we have as physical therapy students to serve others.

Here in Birmingham, AL, there is an organization called Lakeshore Foundation that serves individuals with physical disabilities.  I had the opportunity to help at an inclusion children’s camp, which was a camp for children with physical disabilities and their siblings.  With the inclusion camp consisting of both children and counselors of all realms of physical ability, the goal and the focus of camp was to emphasize the ability of all individuals, especially the ability to participate in sports and be active.

I had such an amazing time with these children and counselors, and while I feel I was able to serve by being a volunteer, I feel that I was the one truly blessed to be a part of this camp.  Throughout the camp, we all played different games, including basketball, volleyball, soccer, tennis, as well as other team-building games in wheelchairs.  In addition, we all tried out hand-cycling (bikes with the use of hand pedals), which was so much fun, but a definite workout ☺.

Through the emphasis of embracing the ability of individuals in wheelchairs and the ability of individuals with all levels of physical ability, a greater respect is developed for the similarities in all individuals and the great potential for success for all individuals.

As I sit here, I think about all that I have learned over this past week and over these last two and a half years, and I am so thankful that God’s has given me these opportunities to learn through my time at Elon.

I look forward to writing next month, as I will be just a couple of days into my acute care part of my internship!  Let me know if you have any questions, I’d love to give my perspective!  Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

