What Makes It Worthwhile

We did it– three modules in seven months. I’m enjoying a coffee in Seattle after meeting up with some friends and love being at a coffee shop without feeling the need to study!

We’re one week into our two-week break and I’m enjoying every second of a well-earned break.

The module finished up well.  It was probably the busiest few consecutive weeks that I remember but as always, we survived and are better for it.  We finished up anatomy with the lab cleanup and final goodbyes to our donors at the memorial service planned by a few members of our class.

Through stories, music and poetry, we were all able to share in the experiences, the ups and downs, of the last six months.  It was a final bookend to an experience that few know and understand, as well as a chance to say thank you and goodbye to the most unique teachers of our education and careers.

The other classes finished up as smoothly as could be expected, and looking back, it’s much easier to see how much we’ve learned.  I’m ready to start ortho next module though and get more hands-on.

I got the chance to shadow a PT I had previously worked with for a few hours over break. It was awesome to see how much more I understood and could apply now that I’ve had just a few months of school under my belt. I can’t wait for the end result. It was a great way to gain some perspective on why we sit in class so much in a week and I can definitely see that the end is definitely worth the means.

I better go enjoy the rest of my break!

One response to “What Makes It Worthwhile

  1. This personal statement of impact is why I cannot imagine life outside of the anatomy lab teaching and learning from my most gracious colleagues!
    A well earned rest and I applaud your perspective.

Leave a Reply

