Reflections on a New Year

Happy New Year!  It’s 2011 — the year of my graduation!  I am getting ready to start my third year tomorrow and I just cannot believe it.  Thinking of these past two years is just wild because I think of what a whirlwind it has been.

I know the last time I wrote I was still in major transition mode, getting used to being back in the classroom after having been out in the clinic for four months.  Now, I feel that I am back in the game, back in the mode of being a student.  I am just getting to the end of our two week Christmas break, which has been a wonderful way to get rejuvenated!  I do have to say that I am very thankful for the schedule of this module, in which we started by having two weeks of class before a week of Thanksgiving break, and then three weeks of class before a two week Christmas break. It has been a wonderful way to help me transition back into school-mode without getting too overwhelmed.

As I get ready to get back to class, I am so excited thinking of getting to meet the new DPT class that will be starting tomorrow!  I’m excited to talk with them and see how they are doing as they get started in this program.  Also, as I think about starting this new year, I think of how it is going to be a steady drive of class until the end of May, when we will be finished with didactic material and getting ready to start our six month internship.

I know these last five months in class at Elon are going to fly by just like the rest of my time has, so I want to make a point to make the most of my time here and not rush it along.  I admit it is tempting to rush the time along, wanting to be done with class work, to be successful in the internship, and to be getting ready to graduate. But I also know that I do not want to get to the end of my time at Elon and wish I had soaked it up more.  God has given me today, and He has given me this day for a purpose according to His will, and I do not want to miss it.

I want to fully invest myself each day and share the light and joy He has given me with everyone I come into contact with, at Elon and elsewhere.  I admit that I may struggle with not always feeling the peace that I sound like I have, struggling at times with feeling overwhelmed with school and life, but God is working in me through those struggles and challenges to mold me into the person He has created me to be.  I just say this so that you do not think I am just being superficial and that I am always happy and bubbly. I definitely have my struggles but I am thankful for them because they help me to see all the more my reliance on Christ and His power and purpose and light and joy in me.  I just pray that others would see this power, purpose, light and joy in my life…all for His glory.  Love y’all and talk to you next month ☺.

Leave a Reply

