The Funniest Feeling…

Well, it’s hard to believe but I’m more than half way through my final internship.  This internship lasts for 6 months which, according to many PT’s that I’ve spoken to, is longer than the clinical experiences offered by most other programs.

I like the fact that this internship is as long as it is because it allows you to become immersed in the experience.  You have time to really get to know the staff and you gain valuable experience not only in patient care but in all of the little details that need to be taken care of throughout the day.

Don’t get me wrong, I still feel like I know only slightly more than nothing, but another thing that you learn is that even therapists with 25+ years of experience feel that way at times.

The biggest difference between me now and me during my second year isn’t really how much I know.  The biggest difference is that unfamiliar situations don’t cause the ‘Holy crap what am I going to do!?’ reaction like they used to.  Instead I just see them as opportunities to learn and to grow as a therapist.

The craziest thing that has happened to me during this internship is that at some point, out of the blue, it dawned on me that I felt like a physical therapist instead of a student.  Until I looked at my bank account, then I felt like a student again.

One response to “The Funniest Feeling…

  1. sheletha richmond

    Admire your determination, you have a lot to gain through this experience and will have even more to give…i found your comments inspiring and reassurring in the long road ahead of me upon entering into the program in the upcoming spring of the new year. Uncertain of which school is the best for me. Your comments are greatly appreciated and i look forward to hearing from you soon.

Leave a Reply

