Grateful Reflections

Well, here we are – the beginning of May – and we are already halfway done with our neuro module. Crazy.  I can honestly say that I cannot believe that I have been in class for two months already since my clinical.

In addition to our neuroscience and management of neurological disorders classes, we have also been putting together all the paperwork necessary for our next two clinicals (July-August and September-October) and have been waiting to hear back about where our final 6-month internship will be next year!

Over these past two months being back on campus at Elon, I have thoroughly enjoyed diving into the neurological realm of PT, learning all about the anatomy and functions of the brain and nervous system, as well as beginning to get a glimpse of what all is involved in the rehabilitation of a patient with a neurological disorder.

I say “get a glimpse” because of the sheer complexity of the neurological realm, from the vast array of possible disorders and dysfunctions to the limitless possible treatment approaches to combat those disorders and dysfunctions.  In light of this, our professors have been doing a great job of presenting to us foundational neuro info, but have also emphasized that there is so much that we will not learn until we are actually out in the clinic.

This makes me excited to get back out in the clinic and put the small repertoire of information I have learned into practice, as well as get a glimpse into many other aspects involved in this type of rehabilitation.

Delving into lecture and lab and learning about the intricacies of how our nervous system is woven together really makes you step back in awe and, for me, admire the Creator who made all of this possible.

As I write this, it is a beautiful Sunday afternoon, and I am just so thankful to be where I am.  So thankful to be in this neuro module at Elon.  So thankful to be able to work with my classmates, colleagues and professors every day.  So thankful to have this opportunity to learn and build upon the abilities I have been given.  I can only imagine what is in store for me over the next year and a half and much less what is in store once I graduate.  I have been given this day for a purpose.  God has put me here for a reason, and I am excited every day to see how He will use me.  Striving to serve Him every day, through loving Him, loving others, and striving to be a light for others, has given me the feeling of fulfillment and purpose that I so longed to have.

I know everyone reading this will not have the same beliefs I have in Jesus Christ, but I just felt compelled to share with you what is really on my heart and to share with any of you out there reading this that might be contemplating starting PT school.  It is easy to get caught up in the potential stress brought on by the workload of pursuing this profession, and because of this, I felt compelled to share with you what has given me purpose, energy,and drive to continue this pursuit with all that I have to give.

Just pursuing a career (with all the studying, reading, writing, working involved) did not give me a purpose – but pursuing this opportunity with God as my focus to serve and honor Him has given me this purpose.  And that is why I am so joyful to be where I am right now in the Elon DPT program.

2 responses to “Grateful Reflections

  1. I can’t tell you how uplifting it was to read this blog. I was intrigued immediately by the thought of studying neurological disorders, but as I continued on and saw mention of the Creator, I become even more intrigued. It is one of those situations where it was just what you needed at that time. I had been working myself into a frenzy preparing my applications to PT schools. Then this blog entry reminded me of why I was doing all this, God is a divine creator, our bodies are complicated, but beautiful and efficient machines. What a privilege to be able to help people “fix” their bodies themselves. God has already decided what program I get accepted to. I will simply continue working hard in my remaining courses, and let his decision be in His hands. Just know that your shared story has inspired, encouraged, and given a sense of peace to at least one somewhat stressed DPT-to be. Thank you again.

  2. sheletha richmond

    ESTATIC! is what you have made me. You are truly one of GOD’s most memorable, unselfish, hard-working vessles…. healing many of us just through your testimony alone of all the knowledge and experience you have gained and will have so much to give as you have given me at this very moment. Upon entering into, if not this program here at Elon, but surely a program involving this curriculum your story is greatly appreciated and i look forward to hearing from you soon.

Leave a Reply

