Making the Leap

My name is Scott and I’m a 2nd year DPT student doing a two-month clinical rotation in acute care at a hospital in Savannah, GA.  Here’s a little background on how I got here…

I’d been interested in physical therapy for quite some time but I sort of fell into a career in banking.  It’s a long story.  Anyway, after over 12 years in the ‘real world’ I finally decided that it was now or never and enrolled in Elon’s DPT program in January, 2008.

Needless to say adjusting to life in grad school was challenging at first but one and a half years and a few grey hairs later I came to the realization that I was probably going to survive the experience.  In determining where we are going to go for our clinical experiences the first step was to identify our top four choices.  If none of our four choices panned out for one reason or another we were entered into a sort of lottery drawing from pooled locations that were willing to take students but that no one selected (if that made sense to you the first time you read it then you automatically qualify for Mensa, congratulations).

So, because none of my four selections worked out, I was entered into the lottery, and that’s how I ended up in Savannah, GA.  In the middle of the summer.  Where it’s always 128 degrees with 114 percent humidity.  And I’m loving every minute of it.

For the last month I’ve worked in what’s referred to as ‘The Units’ which are comprised of the emergency room, the intensive care unit, the cardiac intensive care unit, and the neurological intensive care unit.  The patients I work with on a daily basis range from people literally fighting for their lives to others who have made great progress and are close to being discharged to less critical areas of the hospital.  It is extremely mentally, physically, and at times emotionally challenging but it is always rewarding.

Thanks for reading (both of you) and I’ll try to post another blog soon with some more detail about my experiences.  Have a great day!

One response to “Making the Leap

  1. Awww Scott!! I’m so glad that you’re enjoying Savannah. I know the weather is crazy, but hang in there, only 2 more weeks!!!

Leave a Reply

