Nice to Meet You

My name is Laura Allen.  I am currently a third year doctor of physical therapy student.  I am originally from High Point, North Carolina.   I completed my undergraduate degree at North Carolina State University in Raleigh. As of June 8, 2009,  I started my final 24 week internship at UNC Chapel Hill Hospital in Chapel Hill, North Carolina.  I am in acute care for the next six months working on the ortho/trauma/surgery team.  This internship is the final stretch for me before graduation.  This is an exciting, yet somewhat anxious, time for me.

Since this is my first blog entry for Elon’s Web site, I would like to start by quickly describing  what it is like to be a third year student – up to this point.

Starting the year off as a third year student was an awesome feeling  after returning from a long Christmas break.  Some of the classes that you have to look forward to after the return from Christmas include:  exercise physiology, orthotics/prosthetics, cardiopulmonary, business administration/management, wound care and selective tracts (just to name a few).

Some of the things I found most exciting during these courses included: devising a plan of how to approach the business aspect of opening your own PT clinic, creating an individualized exercise program for our classmates, which specifically met their needs, evaluating gait deviations with prosthetics/orthotics, and interacting with actual patients at both school and Alamance Regional Medical Center (partnership).

Although there is still a considerable amount of time spent in the classroom as a third year student, the time passes quickly and before you know it, you are walking through the door at your internship.

Leave a Reply

