Final Freedom!

Whew – what a good feeling – I just finished my last final for module III!

It has for sure been a trek, but it has been so worth it.  Right now as I look back at the last seven months – the first seven months of my DPT career – I am just amazed.  I think back over the vast amount of material I have been taught, and I am awed by the experience I have had so far.

I by no means have had this positive attitude for the entire seven months because it has been an intense ride, but now that I am here at the end of this module, I am able to take a breath and really appreciate where I am.  This past seven months has been more of a blessing to me than I could have ever imagined.  I know without a doubt that the DPT Class of 2011 at Elon University is exactly where I am supposed to be.

My classmates (now wonderful friends) and my professors are more than I could have ever hoped for.  They are perfect for me.  I could not have imagined how rewarding graduate school and pursuing a DPT degree could be.  I have been challenged in more ways these past months than I ever have in my life – and I could not be more thankful.  I have changed for the better since beginning my career here at Elon.  My professors – ones that have been with me since my first day on campus, as well as ones that I have only had for a couple of months – have all made an impact on my life for the better.  And not just in preparing me to be the best physical therapist I can be when I am done here – but in preparing me to be the best person that I can be in my life.

I am beyond thankful for all that the Elon DPT program is and stands for.  It is designed to keep us, the students, the priority.  During my time here, I have yet to be in need of help for something or another and not had a professor or classmate who has been there to offer that help.  I without a doubt feel that I am home at Elon, and I just feel so grateful that I am where I am.  I know that when I come back from my two- week vacation, things are going to pick up like never before and, again, I am going to be challenged in new and more demanding ways – but, I know it will be worth it – and I say bring it on – because this is what it is all about – learning together, making mistakes together, growing together.

This program is not just preparing us to succeed in the field of physical therapy – it is preparing us to live life in a way that we most fully touch the lives of our patients and all who we share our lives with.  It is not just a program to hurry through so that we can be done – it is something to be cherished (good and hard times) – an experience that we are so fortunate to be a part of – and the relationships and the learning are to be cherished.

2 responses to “Final Freedom!

  1. Jenna:
    Keep investing fully into your Elon DPT program, as we know you will. Doing so, you can feel such pride and warmth in gaining…AND GIVING…to all who are joining you along this special graduate program opportunity and life journey. And, enjoy each ‘n every minute, as it will fly by oh so quickly.

    May The Good Lord keep you all…ALL YA’LL…in His Guard in all ways…always.

    Dad

  2. Nancee Trentadue

    Happy to hear you are opening up and being presented with vast opportunities with physical therapy. I think this is the perfect career for a wonderful woman like you!

Leave a Reply

